Fountain Pen Network

When I first heard about fountain pens, I was a little leary. I picked one up on vacation at Walt Disney World of all places and while it was nice, the pen just didn’t totally do it for me. But I was determined to make it work. So when the first ink cartridge ran out, I went to the web to find out where I could find a refill.

Enter the Fountain Pen Network. This is a message community that is based around people’s love for fountain pens. This has to be one of the friendliest communities around, eager to help and always offering a helping hand. Best of all, many people end up selling their pens once they no longer use it or if they rescue a pen from the junk heap at the local antique mall. A simple restoration and there is a brand new pen that is older than me (yes, I have a Parker 21 Special that I use almost daily that originally was made in the 1950’s!)

Recently someone asked me what makes these pens so special. It’s hard to explain, but if writing is an art (and I tend to think it is), then the proper tool for the job is vital. A good fountain pen and decent pad of paper makes what seems like a chore for so many of us into a tremendous experience. What’s really cool is a decent disposable fountain pen (the Pilot Varsity) is easily had for under $3.00. Trust me, I’ll take a fountain pen over a ball point, roller ball or gel pen any day of the week.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 234 other followers

What’s Going On Right Now?
What Am I Playing?
