Themed Thursday – Top 5 Superheroes

Welcome to the first of my themed Thursdays. For the next few weeks, I’ll introduce myself to you, the blog reader, to a few of my favorite things. So, for the foreseeable future, the theme on Thursdays is Top 5 Lists. Without further ado, this week we’ll look at my top 5 Superheroes.

The Batman

The Batman

5) Batman – the only DC character to make my list. Generally speaking, I’m a Marvel guy. But there is something about Batman that I really enjoy. Maybe it’s all those cool toys or maybe it’s his dark aura. Maybe it’s the fact that he can take down Superman despite the fact that he has no super powers of his own. Or maybe it’s the fact that he’s such a driven character, I don’t know. But what I do know is that I find most DC characters very boring, but Batman, well, he’s number 5 on my list.

Hawkeye

Hawkeye

4) Hawkeye – There is something about a guy who’s only power is that he’s a really good archer. Okay, so that’s a bit of a stretch for Clint Barton, but still, it’s a pretty cool character concept. Even cooler was that he was a bit of a hot head and a former crook. He’s gone through a few different looks, but thanks to the birth of the Heroic Age, it looks like the once and current Hawkeye is here to stay. And that makes me a happy camper.

Wolverine

Wolverine

3) Wolverine – Okay, so this one is a no-brainer by most standards. Old Man Logan is one of the most popular characters to ever grace the four color pages of comics. Not bad for a guy who made his entrance into the comic world as an opponent of the Hulk. Still, with unbreakable claws, a rapid healing factor and a no-nonsense attitude, Wolverine is a great character. But it’s the inner struggle of Logan, whether he embraces the honorable man or the horrific beast within that make him so compelling.

Spider-Man2) Spider-Man – This one was tough, and there was a time not so long ago that Spidey might have topped this list. Your average joe, struggling to pay his bills, take care of his family and have a relationship with his wife may not seem too compelling, but when you toss in the ability to do whatever a spider can you suddenly understand why. Peter Parker has undergone a few changes over the years including erasing much of the past 25 years of comic history in the “Brand New Day” story, but he remains a haunted man who continually tries to live up to the motto his deceased Uncle Ben gave him: “With great power, comes great responsibility.”

Captain America

Captain America

1) Captain America – Now, when I say Captain America, I mean the one and only Star Spangled Avenger Steve Rogers. Yes, I know that his former side kick is now Cap, but when you say Captain America to me, I will always think of Steve Rogers. That scrawny kid who only wanted to do whatever he could to help defeat the Nazi’s back in the day never once gave up his principles. Whether it was abandoning the role of Cap to take the mantle of Nomad or simply The Captain when he grew disillusioned with the Actions of the American government, Steve Rogers believes not in a particular party or even merely democracy. Captain America believes in freedom and equality the greatest reasons we broke from the crown to begin with. And that is why Captain America is my favorite superhero.

What about you? List your favorites in the comment section!

Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Themed Thursday – Top 5 Superheroes
  1. Eric says:

    My top 5: Thor, Spider-Man, Batman, Raphael (from TMNT comics) and The Tick.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 234 other followers

What’s Going On Right Now?
What Am I Playing?
