Top 5 Thursday – Star Wars in Concert!

This past Monday, Joe and I celebrated our birthdays a few weeks late by attending Star Wars in Concert at the Wells Fargo Arena. In short, we had a blast. In lieu of a full review of the concert, I decided that this would make a great Top 5 Thursday topic. So, without further ado, here’s my Top 5 Things about Star Wars in Concert!

5) The Exhibits – Before the show, the concourse around Wells Fargo Arena was filled with costumes, props and video displays from the Star Wars Saga. What a thrill it was to see th actual carbon freezing mock-up from Episode V or the Darth Vader costume from the movies. For a Star Wars geek such as myself, it was so cool to see the actual Plo Koon costume or the Royal Guard costumes from the films. My picture at left is a tribute to Dave Filoni, supervising director of the Clone Wars animated series, the actual Plo Koon costume.

4) The Characters – One of my favorite things about going to Disney World is meeting the characters. Yes, I know “the truth” about them, but still, it’s really cool to stand next to your favorite movie character and get your photo taken. Joey got a thrill out of standing next to Darth Vader to get his picture taken (especially since he was wearing his Lego Dart Vader shirt) and I got a thrill hamming it up with a couple of Stormtroopers as we were set to get us some “Rebel Scum.” There were even a couple of working R2 units there, including one R2-D2

3) The Orchestra/Choir – So it would seem to me that if you have event called Star Wars in Concert, you really should have music! And music we had. I don’t know of a higher compliment that I can give the orchestra than they sounded just like the original soundtrack. They were phenomenal. The addition of the choir for songs like “Duel of the Fates” made the experience even better. I am not musically inclined but I can tell you that these guys were tremendously good and the fact that they knew their stuff made the experience all the better.

2) Anthony Daniels – If you were to ask Joe what his favorite part of the show was, he would tell you that it was when Mr. Daniels went on gushing about what a marvelous character C-3PO was. I have to agree to a point, Mr. Daniels story telling ability and charisma on stage set this apart from a regular concert and made it far more. Just the mere fact that I was in the same room as someone who was involved with every Star Wars film made (including doing the voice for C-3PO in the animated Clone Wars Series) was thrilling enough, but Mr. Daniels brought a passion and joy to the stage that took the show to the next level. It certainly wouldn’t have been the same show without him.

1) The Company – You may think this is about my fellow geeks. While that was cool to be in the presence of so many other Star Wars geeks, the real company I’m speaking of is my boy, Joe. The biggest thrill I experienced was sharing this geek out with my boy. And it reminded me that this is what Star Wars is all about. For all the arguments the Star Wars fans have over whether or not Lucas ruined the films with the prequels or the Ewoks, if Han shot first, what constitutes G-Level Cannon or whatever it may be today, the essence of Star Wars is a story that we can sit back, enjoy and share with those around us. As we left the arena, I said to Joe that my favorite part was going with him and he looked confused. I said, “Someday, when you’re older and have a son of your own, you will understand.” At that moment, I felt a little bit like Yoda, passing down wisdom from one generation to the other. And that’s what made my experience so cool.

What about you? Did you attend or have you attended Star Wars in Concert? If so, leave me a comment below!

Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Top 5 Thursday – Star Wars in Concert!
  1. Eric says:

    I don’t get it. What’s “the truth” about the characters at WDW? 😉

    Sounds like a great event. I’m glad you guys had fun.

    And, Thomas….nice shirt. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 234 other followers

What’s Going On Right Now?
What Am I Playing?
