Coffee Roasting – it begins!

About a month ago, I quit my part time job at Caribou Coffee. Now, one of the main reasons I still worked there was to keep the “french benefits” including a nice discount on coffee for the times I wasn’t at the shop. However, as they say, all good things must come to an end and I realized I was faced with either lowering my standards for coffee or paying full price. Neither would do.

I had toyed around with the idea of roasting my own coffee for the better part of a year and decided that this was a great opportunity to give it a whirl. So, I picked up a hot air popcorn popper and then had one gifted to me (thanks, Melissa!). Julie even found a hand crank Whirly Pop stove top job that is great for larger jobs. With the equipment in place, I set out to find some green coffee.

And find it I did. Sweet Maria’s is a purveyor of green coffee and I ordered one of their four pound sampler packs. It arrived today but since I had to Mr. Mom it tonight, the first round will have to wait until tomorrow night. In the meantime, if you are curious, here is a video of what I’m going to try. Wish me luck!

Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Coffee Roasting – it begins!
  1. Doug says:

    Make sure you have good ventilation!

  2. Kathy says:

    That’s fascinating! I had no idea this could be a do-it-yourself process. I’m anxious to hear your results!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 234 other followers

What’s Going On Right Now?
What Am I Playing?
